Getting started on your weight loss journey

A lot of people have asked me how to get started on their weight loss journey, so I’m taking the opportunity to write all about it today. Arguably, the hardest part of a weight loss journey is getting started and seeing it through. However, once you know what to do and how, the weight loss becomes the easier bit. So here we go, a few pointers as to how you can get yourself started on your weight loss journey.

In my opinion, all good things need to start with a “why”. In other words, what is your purpose for losing the weight, because if you have a strong reason why you want to lose the weight, the higher the chance you have of succeeding. As I’ve said before on this blog, my reason was to get away from the negative feelings that I felt about my weight. For instance, I didn’t want to look in the mirror, I didn’t want to have my photos taken and my self esteem was at an all time low. Since losing the weight, generally, I now like my photos, looking in the mirror and my self esteem has come on leaps and bounds! Therefore, think about your “why” and write it down.

Next, couple your “why” with your goal(s). I’ve done a previous blog post about setting your goals (if you’re not sure how to do this). Setting a goal and having it written down can be really powerful. I liken it to a to-do list because once it’s written down, I feel more inclined to actually do it and tick it off. It’s also a great way of becoming accountable for your weight loss. If it’s a big goal, break it down into smaller goals in order to work your way towards it. After all, you didn’t put on all the weight overnight, so you’re not going to lose it overnight. Once you have your goal(s) written down, you’re in good stead to get started.

Whenever you decide to start your journey, it’s good practice to take your measurements, weight (if you have scales) and before photos. These activities will help you to be accountable for your weight loss, and it’ll be a good reference point to come back to after a week, a month etc of starting. Write down your measurements and weight along side your “why”.

Finally, whatever plan you decide upon, it’s now time for you to get started. Review your “why” and your goals. Ask yourself if your goals are realistic and if so, can you fully commit them. If both answers are yes, then you can start your journey. If you answered no, then go back and make changes so that you do feel they’re realistic and you can fully commit to them.

Now that you’re answering yes to both questions. Have a think about your weight loss plan, do you have one and does it work for you? If you’re looking for support and your own personalised plan, then contact me today for more information.


For everyday, lifestyle and recipe ideas check out my instagram page @amummylifestyle


I always love to hear from people, so if you’re on a similar journey and would like support or advice, please reach out to me!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started