Quick workouts

Being a first time mum can be hard as I find that there is very little time in the day to do anything, unless it is a priority to get it done. In the early days of motherhood that was just the bare necessities like washing and eating. These days, I’m trying to find ways to make exercise apart of my everyday routine, and it’s not always easy when you have to play by baby’s schedule! Therefore, I’ve been exploring some great ways to squeeze in workouts as part of a busy mum’s routine.

Upon doing my research, I was surprised to find out that the NHS website is actually a good hub for workout content. I knew it had a lot about healthy eating, but I was pleasantly surprised to see exercises on there. They’ve got lots of photos with descriptions, describing various exercises that 10 minutes or less. Simply choose your target area and away we go! They’ve even got a few videos on there, if you prefer following along to workouts with an instructor.

Furthermore, an exercise hub that I’m sure you’ll be familiar with is YouTube. It’s absolutely jam packed full of workout content. A quick search of workouts brings up an array of different exercises. So if you’re looking for the likes of Joe Wicks or Pamela Reif, you know where to go. It’s safe to say that the choices are endless. I think it’s great for having free taster sessions of different workouts to discover what you enjoy doing. For example, if you’ve never tried Zumba or Yoga, give it a YouTube search and follow a video. If you enjoy something, it’s far easier to prioritise it and make it part of your everyday routine.

Another great way to get in a quick workout is to put on a DVD. I’ve currently got a Pilates one, and finding it beneficial as there’s a selection of workouts to choose from that all range in length. Perfect for if you don’t have a lot of time. For example, yesterday, I did a quick 10 minutes arms workout whilst my bath was running. Therefore, if you can make exercise a priority then you will find the time to do it.

Finally, if you really struggle for time, then there are a couple of apps called the 7-minute workout. There’s two of them available in the app store and they’re absolutely perfect for squeezing in a 7 minute workout before you have lunch, dinner or before you have a shower. So whatever you end up doing, try to find something that you enjoy. That way you’ll prioritise it as something to get done, and then there’s a very high chance that you’ll do it.


For everyday, lifestyle and recipe ideas check out my instagram page @amummylifestyle


I always love to hear from people, so if you’re on a similar journey and would like support or advice, please reach out to me!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started